Victorian Architecture Awards

7 years ago
1 minutes

From the weird and wonderful, to the imaginative and creative, this year’s cream of the crop has been acknowledged at the 2016 Victorian Architecture Awards.

Awards and commendations were presented across 12 categories representing Victoria’s incredible architecture.

Of the 197 entries, a staggering 30 per cent were worthy of an award of commendation, with independent juries handing out 29 awards and 17 commendations, in addition to the Regional Prize, Melbourne Prize, and the coveted Victorian Architecture Medal.

ARM Architecture was the big winner of the night, the 2016 Institute Gold Medalists was awarded its sixth Victorian Medal for the Geelong Library and Heritage Centre.

The firm also took out the Regional Prize, as well as the Interior Architecture and Public Architecture Awards,

Hamish Lyon, Chair of Juries described it as “an exemplar public project and a significant new landmark for the City of Geelong. A striking piece of architecture and major community hub, it has elevated the role of public architecture for both Geelong and the wider regional community.”

Take a look at who scooped what on the big night.




Geelong Library & Heritage Centre by ARM Architecture. 

Winner of the Victorian Architecture Medal, Regional Prize, Interior Architecture and Public Architecture Named Awards. 

Photo: John Gollings



Residential Architecture – Houses (Multiple Housing)

Alarah Townhouses, SJB Architects

Photo: Paul Carland



Residential Architecture – Houses (Multiple Housing)

Ari, Ola Studio

Photo: Paul Carland



Melbourne Prize 

Saltwater Community Centre, Croxon Ramsay Architects

Photo: Dianna Snape



Henry Bastow Award - Educational Architecture

The Mandeville Centre, Loreto Toorak, Architectus 

Photo: Ian Davidson



Sir Osborn McCutcheon Award - Commercial Architecture

Emporium Melbourne, The Buchan Group with Wonderwall 

Photo: Aaron Pocock


Named Award and Architecture Award winners go on to compete in the National Architecture Awards, announced in November.

For the full list of winners, head to the Australian Institute of Architects website.